Tough Cookie

Searching for a delicate way to describe a difficult personality, I recently called someone a tough cookie. It hadn’t occurred to me until that moment what an insult that expression is – to both the person and one of my favorite treats. I mean, who wants anything to do with a tough cookie? A cookie should deliver a bit of sweet wrapped up in a tender, crispy or gooey package. But tough? No thanks.

So when I described this person (who shall remain nameless, but no, of course not you) in this way, I was literally saying, “I thought you would have been good, possibly great, someone I clearly would enjoy and now I see that I was deceived by your appearance of being enticing. I was tricked, you are not good, in fact you are worthless, not even worthy of being put on the day-old sale rack of being merely stale.”

What I really meant in this current circumstance was that this person was a shrewd negotiator. Next time I will be more clear, in deference of to my adoration of cookies and to be more sensitive to others. In the meantime I will try to use a much preferable expression that honors both food and person.

Thanks for reading and Happy New Year, sweetie pie.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Tough Cookie”

  1. John B. Says:

    Enjoyable read…..you’re such a smart cookie! ;-)

  2. Robin Says:

    Love your blogs… pumpkin pie

  3. Robin Says:

    Can you please send me the photo of you and Robert on this blog, what a beautiful photo. <3 Robin

  4. Tom Slover Says:

    Think about “nice as pie” — what could be better! Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 366 other followers

